Hello Guest

LWJGL 3 - shader uniforms changing during rendering

• 5 Replies
LWJGL 3 - shader uniforms changing during rendering
« on: April 09, 2015, 06:22:59 »
Hi all,

I'm struggling to find the cause for an issue where my uniforms seem to be changing value in the middle of a glDrawArrays call. The attached program should display alternating blue/green columns of triangles, where each triangle's color is passed to the shader as a uniform. Apologies for the messy code, but it's a (minimal) cut-down example from a larger app. I'm using the latest stable LWJGL 3 release.

It all works fine if I loop through my VAOs and render them individually. However, if I create a (temporary) VAO & populate a VBO during rendering, the colors become random - even down to individual fragments within a triangle (see screenshots). I'm a relative newbie to OpenGL, so would appreciate any advice on what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks.

Offline quew8

• Because Square Eyes Look More Real
Re: LWJGL 3 - shader uniforms changing during rendering
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2015, 10:17:43 »
It all works fine if I loop through my VAOs and render them individually. However, if I create a (temporary) VAO & populate a VBO during rendering...

Thanks.

Not sure I understand what you mean by this. And could you post the fragment shader and just the code where you set this uniform.

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2015, 00:54:41 »
Sure. Here's the fragment shader:

Code: [Select]
#version 330 core

uniform vec4 color;

layout(location = 0) out vec4 fragColor;

void main()
{
     fragColor = color;
};

Here's the bit of code which sets the uniform:

Code: [Select]
int colorId = glGetUniformLocation(shader.getID(), "color");
glUniform4f(colorId, color[0], color[1], color[2], color[3]);

If you need more details, all the code (including shaders) is attached as self-contained runnable example in my first post.

Not sure I understand what you mean by this.