Hello Guest

Why I'm stuck on 2.9.3

• 9 Replies
Why I'm stuck on 2.9.3
« on: June 16, 2019, 22:09:41 »
I've been writing software using the LWJGL libraries since around 2013. A few years back, I wanted to upgrade the libraries to use the latest 3.x version.  I spent several days swapping out libraries and converting my code to use GLFW windowing. Eventually, nothing would work, so I gave up and switched to the most recenter version of LWJGL2, which was version 2.9.3. I've been stuck here for years.

If you had asked me at the time if I'd recommend LWJGL v3 to a friend, I'd say "Absolutely not!" Why? Well, I don't want my friends to hate me.

A few days ago, I had some extra vacation time, and decided to give LWJGL3 one more try. Surely, most of the early transition phase issues have been resolved, and hopefully the documentation makes it easier to integrate the libraries. But this time, I'd avoid the pain of converting a large existing program, and would instead try working from the ground up. Let's try the basic tutorial and get the libraries to do something... anything... How hard could it be?

I downloaded the stable release version (3.2.2) and started to do a Grade build using Eclipse as the IDE. The documentation make it sound easy to set up a <lwjgl3> library, but with nearly 37 separate libraries, doing that without error is a daunting task. After a couple of fruitless wasted hours, I decided to hand configure a build space. To minimize issues, I elected to get the simple HelloWorld program running without the use of Grade. I'd also use a shell script to ensure that the library setup was simple and correct for both the class path and load libraries.