Hello Guest

glBufferSubData and glDrawArrays confusion

• 8 Replies
glBufferSubData and glDrawArrays confusion
« on: February 02, 2016, 19:16:32 »
Hello. I'm pretty new to OpenGL and 3d-programming in general. Please bear with me :)

I have some confusion about glBufferSubData and glDrawArrays. Let's say I have a mesh (uploaded via glBufferData) and a vao, I can draw that mesh multiple times by calling glDrawArrays multiple times, right? Until now I've been in the belief that I could do that same with glBufferSubData ("Batching"). However, whenever the buffer goes full and I flush the data to GPU, all previously written data seem to be overwritten.

Is this what is supposed to happen and have I just misunderstood of how things work?

My batching code:
Code: [Select]
public BatchTest()
{
//max instances tells how many times I can draw before the buffer going full and a forced flush
int maxInstances = 2;
int triCompAmt = 3;
triSizeBytes = triCompAmt * 3 * Float.BYTES;

vao = new VertexArrayObject();
vbo = new VertexBufferObject();

vao.bind();
vbo.bind(GL15.GL_ARRAY_BUFFER);

buf = BufferUtils.createByteBuffer(triSizeBytes * maxInstances);

GL15.glBufferData(GL15.GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, buf.capacity(), GL15.GL_DYNAMIC_DRAW);

GL20.glVertexAttribPointer(0, 3, GL11.GL_FLOAT, false, 0, 0);
GL20.glEnableVertexAttribArray(0);

vao.unbind();
}

public void draw(Vec3f p0)
{
//if buffer is full, flush it
if (buf.remaining() < triSizeBytes)
{
System.out.println("flush");
render();
}

//draw a triangle to the coordinates p0
buf.putFloat(p0.getX()   ).putFloat(p0.getY() + 1).putFloat(p0.getZ());
buf.putFloat(p0.getX() - 1).putFloat(p0.getY() - 1).putFloat(p0.getZ());
buf.putFloat(p0.getX() + 1).putFloat(p0.getY() - 1).putFloat(p0.getZ());

vertices += 3;
}

public void render()
{
if (vertices == 0)
return;

vbo.bind();
buf.flip();
GL15.glBufferSubData(GL15.GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, 0, buf);

vao.bind();
GL11.glDrawArrays(GL11.GL_TRIANGLES, 0, vertices);
vao.unbind();

vertices = 0;