Porting to LWJGL3

Started by BrickFarmer, December 13, 2014, 17:15:32

Previous topic - Next topic

BrickFarmer

I've started work porting my simple Rift example over to LWJGL3.  I'm new to LWJGL and still trying to find some equivalents of certain functions, so apologies if I've set off in the wrong direction!  My OpenGL is quite rusty, but I want to get this openGL 2.1 example working before I try some 'modern' openGL and start messing around with shaders etc. :)

Anyway the part I'm tripping over for now is with FrameBuffers.  I get:

at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL30.nglGenFramebuffers(GL30.java:2364)
	at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL30.glGenFramebuffers(GL30.java:2393)
	at com.sunshineapps.riftexample.thirdparty.FrameBuffer.<init>(FrameBuffer.java:40)
	at com.sunshineapps.riftexample.RiftClient0440.init(RiftClient0440.java:320)

Looking at the code, it seems to have brought in some static imports for GL30.  Since I'm currently on my 4 year old mac, I'm limited to GL2.1.  However looking at the Apple table for my NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M, frame buffers should be there.

https://developer.apple.com/opengl/capabilities/GLInfo_1085.html

So is the NPE exception being triggered by something else?  Since I dont yet have the source and javadoc being pulled in by maven I'm not quite sure what I'm doing wrong here.

Also, is my usage of 'createFromCurrent' correct please?  ie. that I can pull it in from anywhere, assuming that I'm always on the same thread?  So a keypress handler would set a boolean for the loop() to check, that sort of thing?

I'm quite excited to get something running with LWJGL3 so please have some patience with me if I'm trying to run before I can walk.  I did have a scout around for LWJGL3 examples, but most code still seems to be v2 based.

update: I've put it online now:

https://github.com/WhiteHexagon/example-jovr-lwjgl3-rift

Oculus Rift CV1, MBP 2016 - 2.9 i7 - Radeon Pro 460  OSX 10.12.4,  Win7 - i5 4670K - GTX1070.