LWJGL 3 - closureError concerning garbage collection

Started by h1, December 10, 2014, 03:49:41

Previous topic - Next topic

h1

Hello,
I'm new to lwjgl and especially to version 3. Currently I'm porting my game code from v.2.9.1 to 3 and I have had no problems except the handling of all callbacks in conjunction with the mouse inputs. For now everything works fine though after my programm runns certain seconds. Whenever I use a glfwSetMouseButtonCallback or a glfwSetCursorPosCallback in my code I get the following error when calling the glfwPollEvents() method:

org.lwjgl.system.libffi.ClosureError: Callback failed because the closure instance has been garbage collected.
   at org.lwjgl.glfw.GLFW.glfwPollEvents(Native Method)

I also use glfwSetWindowCloseCallback and glfwSetKeyCallback without issues.
Any hints how i can solve this behaviour?

-h1

SHC

Have you stored the CallBack instances in the main class? If you haven't stored them, then that is the source of the error.

// Class-level variables for storing handles
private static GLFWWindowSizeCallback winSizeCallback;
private static GLFWKeyCallback        winKeyCallback;
private static GLFWWindowPosCallback  winPosCallback;
private static GLFWCursorPosCallback  winCurPosCallback;
private static GLFWErrorCallback      errorCallback;

After you made the instances of the callbacks, you have to set the callbacks using glfwSet**Callback() functions.

// Yes, I do use Java 8 Lambdas
glfwSetWindowSizeCallback(window, winSizeCallback = GLFWWindowSizeCallback((win, w, h) ->
{
    Display.width = width;
    Display.height = height;

resized = true;
}));

glfwSetKeyCallback(window, winKeyCallback = GLFWKeyCallback((win, key, scanCode, action, mods) ->
        Keyboard.setKey(key, action == GLFW_PRESS)));

glfwSetWindowPosCallback(window, winPosCallback = GLFWWindowPosCallback((win, xPos, yPos) ->
{
    Display.posX = xPos;
    Display.posY = yPos;
}));