clCreateBuffer() not creating

Started by amcelroy, November 22, 2013, 23:15:08

Previous topic - Next topic

amcelroy

Howdy,

I've a lot of experience with OpenCL in C but am having to roll with Java on a project.  LWJGL has a gorgeous and easy OpenCL interface, so I decided to use that.

Everything has gone well so far: platform query, device query, creating a context, and creating a command Queue.  Everything is running without error until I go to create a buffer.

The buffer is allocated on the device using the following:

public CLMem allocateMemory(long BytesPerElement, long Width, long Height, long Depth){
        long size = Width*Height*Depth*BytesPerElement;
        CLMem buffer = null;
        try{
            buffer = CL10.clCreateBuffer(mContext, CL10.CL_MEM_WRITE_ONLY, size, mErrorBuf);
        }catch(Exception e){
            int x= 0;
        }
        Util.checkCLError(mErrorBuf.get(0));
        mMemoryBuffers.add(buffer);
        return buffer;
    }

However, when this code executes, no memory is allocated on my device, in this case my CPU.  There is no Exception and
Util.checkCLError(mErrorBuf.get(0));
doesn't produce any errors.  Does anyone else have this issue and is it a bug?

Thanks in advance,
Austin

quew8

The code looks fine. How do you know that there is no memory being allocated? Also with the error, make sure the error buffer's position is 0 before you call clCreateBuffer() (Calling rewind is the easiest way). Otherwise the error won't be put in the 0th index.

By the way, I understand that you are a C programmer but, in Java it is the convention to start variable names with lower case. It doesn't particularly matter but when you ask for help at a Java forum it will help to avoid confusion.

amcelroy

Hey quew8,

I'm just watching the task manager and don't see a jump in used memory.  Going a little further, it looks like the memory allocates only when I perform a clEnqueueWrite().  Is this working as intended?