What object format must I use for my world ?

Started by TBone, March 18, 2004, 07:38:13

Previous topic - Next topic

TBone

Hi,

I'm building an Air Traffic Control simulator. It's OK for the ATC engine side but I will begin the OpenGL side (with LWJGL) and I'm a newbie.

For the story, the player is on the Control Tower (viewpoint fixed but can rotate). You see the airport, the aircrafts, the buildings and neighborhood on 20nm max.

I have some difficulties to select a 3D file format. For now, objects are only cubes and not textured, viewpoint fixed but it can't continue :)

I have designed the first airport and aircrafts with LightWave3D 7.5. But I plan to use also Maya 5.

In a first step, I would like to see objects with colors only but in a second step I would like to paint them with a texture.

This file format should store:
- the geometry (of course :) )
- the color/texture references
- modifiers to move vertex for basic operations (like moving 2 vertices to simulate the aileron or rudder movement e.g.)

Could you help me to select a good file format ? Because for now I use a self-made XML format but texturing is a complex part for me.

Thanks for your time.

fbi

Hmmm...hamletic problem indeed  :D
I think that creating a custom file format (e.g. XML-based) might be a good option but, as you noticed, sometimes it might be not  :?
Anyway the so-loved (or so-hated) ASE file format is a good candidate for what you're looking for.
Moreover if you have some familiarity with the Max SDK for example, you could take a look at a Discreet technology called IGame which simplifies exporting data straight from Max (there's an example using an XML-based format).
You said you're currently using Lightwave so I suspect you can't use ASE file format  :)
Another option might be using some good old VRML2.0 but at the cost of having very simple materials...

TBone

I will check the Discreet IGame but I'm not a Max user.
In the worst case, I will continue my own XML format :)