Re: Getting help on #lwjgl

Started by princec, August 21, 2012, 22:47:30

Previous topic - Next topic

erlend_sh

Quote from: Matzon on August 22, 2012, 06:28:08
Regarding captcha. I dont see any reason to change it. It is a basic java issue, and it keeps a shitload of non-java, non-lwjgl - and more importantly - complete newbies and a shitload of minecraft support seeking people off the forum.
This attitude scares me. If a lot of people who come here asking questions are way out of their league, this is because your website (front page, forum & wiki) doesn't clearly communicate to new users what the basic requirements for working with LWJGL are. Naturally we face this exact same problem in the jMonkeyEngine community, and it's a constant struggle, but we acknowledge it, we keep working on it and we most certainly don't ignore it.

I'm glad I registered before that new CAPTCHA was introduced, because that would have been a pain. It wouldn't take me more than a nudge at one of my fellow jMonkeys, but the message is clear: Programmers only. I'm not a programmer, but I dare say I've made significant contributions to the jMonkeyEngine project. And we have composers and artists sharing their work on the forum, joining up with developers. And this is the way it should be, because game development is about more disciplines than just programming.

LWJGL is a game development project. That means it is inevitably going to attract a much wider variety of people than the capable programmer you're targeting. There's nothing wrong with your target, but the ones that don't fit should be pointed in the right direction. Please don't alienate your users.

Matzon

I realise that the question can come off as elitist - and that's certainly not the intent.
However, at some point, you just get too many "problems with minecraft", "noclassedeferror" etc etc.

LWJGL is NOT an entry point java game library.