excellent Free 3d modelling/animation software...

Started by snaga, March 02, 2004, 12:49:21

Previous topic - Next topic

snaga

...needs export plugins.  (java and directx)

I mean, I am an old artist (well, not so old) , I mean, somehow experienced, and this is one is an easy to learn while powerful package. Really,a jewel.  It needs export plugins to become a great free game art tool. It can already be used for levels and objects, but would be simply wonderful if we could use it for real time game characters.

http://aoi.sourceforge.net

It does suport skinned mesh characters. That is bones and weights, so the arms, legs, etc, bend smoothly and animations are seen many times better than softwares with only rigid asignments of vertex to bone.

Even more! is made in java. You can make plugins for it in java language. It also has an easy scripting language, but  a java programmer surely prefer java.

I am into gaming but for non java based engines (though this may change in the future ) ...so I need directx 8 skinned meshes export. (that is, *.x file export with weights, including animation)

I have not much hopes of people here making a conversion  to the direct x format, but I finally decided  to post for general interest.

They also provide a good manual.

Why I am asking for directx export? see the list of engines that I could output artwork for :

-Irrlitch Engine
-Urgh engine
-Dark Basic Pro
-GameStudio (latest)
-Tv 3d engine
-Blitz3d (if you have Ultimate unwrap purchased, also, as so can convert directx animations to b3d and md2)