glDrawElements and low FPS

Started by newb, May 22, 2012, 16:56:21

Previous topic - Next topic

newb

Hi everyone,

im new to OpenGL and of course lwjgl. I have a question about calling the method glDrawElements:
I want to render ~200 object (150 Object look the same) and for this i use VBO`s.
Each object has its own render method where binding of the position, rotation and scalation as a uniformmatrix and the call to glDrawElements takes place.

The Problem is i have a low Framerate (~50fps) but my objects (for now) consist of simple quads.

Later i want to use much more complex objects and other computations...

I thought glDrawElements activates only the rendering on the GPU, but why does it take so much time?
Did i take a wrong approach?

Thanks for help!

matheus23

Maybe you made a mistake, and uploaded the VBO data every frame... Show us some rendering code, that would help a lot ;)
My github account and currently active project: https://github.com/matheus23/UniverseEngine

newb

The render-func for each of the 200 OBjects looks like this:
public void render() {
   GL11.glDrawElements( OpenGL.GL_TRIANGLES_STRIP, 16, OpenGL.GL_UNSIGNED_INT, 0 );
}

I created 200 vertex array objects, but i bound only the last one (last construktor call).
C-Tor of each object (where f is a float array and i is an integer array)
vaID = OpenGL.createVertexArray( f, i );      
OpenGL.glBindVertexArray( vaID );

The render-func in my OpenGL-class (Wrapper-Class) looks like this:

public static void render() {
      long time = 0;
      int frames  = 0;

while( !Display.isCloseRequested() ) {

if( Display.wasResized() ) {
            OpenGL.resize();
         }
         OpenGL.getMouseInputs();
         OpenGL.glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT );

for ( Renderable element : renderList ) {
            element.render();
         }
         Display.update();

// Calc FPS
         frames++;
         if( ( System.currentTimeMillis() - time ) >= 1000 ) {