Better way to render than pixel-by-pixel?

Started by Epicbo, March 27, 2012, 06:40:38

Previous topic - Next topic

Epicbo

Hi! I recently decided to learn OpenGL and now I've run into some problems. The problem im working on is a simple raycaster game. I've managed to make textured walls without any problem. However, now I attempt to make textured floor/ceiling and it's not working quite as good. The way do it (the way most tutorials tell me how to do it) is to loop through every pixel below and above the wall, calculating which part of a texture to use and then rendering the pixel. The calculations drops my FPS from 130 to 120, which is no big deal. Rendering the pixels drops my FPS from 120 to 3, making it completly unplayable.

Since im a complete beginner I dont know any method to speed this up. Perhaps you do? I was thinking something like getting the pixel data for the whole floor and then rendering it all at once might work, but I don't know how to do it. I don't even know if you can do that. Help would be very appreciated!

CodeBunny

You can render textured quads right? Why don't you just use those?

And what tutorials are you following??? D: That's some of the worst advice I've ever heard. I don't even know of a worse way to do it in OpenGL. Find a better tutorial suite.

A good rule of thumb with computer graphics (and most programming) is that some form of pre-compilation of data is useful for good performance. Examples:

• You want to render an image, so you allocate a texture and store it on the graphics card.
  • You want to render geometry, so you store the vertex on the graphics card.
  • (many other examples - most of modern graphics programming is based on this rule)

Examples in other areas of programming:

• You want entities to have pathfinding, so you create and store a map for them to reference.
  • You want to have platforming physics and a huge map, so you break it up into a tilemap.