Inconsistent glDrawElements

Started by USNavyFish, September 08, 2011, 22:10:32

Previous topic - Next topic

USNavyFish

Hello! First post, so I want to start off with a big Thank You to those who contribute to LWJGL. I'm relatively new to the library and to the new OpenGL 3+ specification, so it's possible that the problem I'm encountering is caused by incorrect usage, although I am writing my code following a number of fairly thorough examples (OpenGL SuperBible, Learning Modern 3D Graphics Programming, mostly).

In a nutshell:

The overridden "glDrawElements" method that directly takes an index buffer will produce the expected geometry, if and only if GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER is bound to zero. If the buffer is bound to anything else, an exception is thrown.

The "normal-syntax" glDrawElements method, on the other hand, will throw an exception if this buffer is NOT bound (that's the expected behavior right?). But, when I bind the GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER it still does not produce any geometry, whereas the overridden method uses the same indexes and does.

In other words, there are four cases. And since I'm not 100% what the expected behavior IS, I'm going to post all four of them for consideration  :)

The simplified, "Overridden" DrawElements method only works when the GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER is UNBOUND:

GL15.glBindBuffer(GL15.GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER, 0);
GL11.glDrawElements(GL11.GL_TRIANGLES, indexData);

This case produces the expected geometry. If the GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER IS bound, an exception is thrown:

GL15.glBindBuffer(GL15.GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER, indexBufferObject);

OpenGLException: Cannot use Buffers when Element Array Buffer Object is enabled

Using the "normal" syntax, DrawElements throws an exception when the GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER is Unbound (this is expected right?):

GL11.glDrawElements(GL11.GL_TRIANGLES, indexData.limit(), GL11.GL_INT, (long)0);

OpenGLException: Cannot use offsets when Element Array Buffer Object is disabled