Trouble with Textures and Quads and Powers of Two...

Started by Indignation211, August 23, 2011, 00:14:48

Previous topic - Next topic

Indignation211

Hi, im new to using OpenGL and Slick, and ive run into a problem. I load a image as a Texture, i do texture.bind(), then draw a GL11 quad. Problem is, the quad gets sized up to the next power of 2 and a bunch of black space is added, which i don't want. So after doing some research and playing with the settings I eventually get this code:

public void render(){
        texture.bind();
        GL11.glBegin(GL11.GL_QUADS);
			GL11.glTexCoord2f(0, 0);
			GL11.glVertex2f(x, y);
			GL11.glTexCoord2f(imagewidth/texturewidth, 0);
			GL11.glVertex2f(x+imagewidth, y);
			GL11.glTexCoord2f(imagewidth/texturewidth, imageheight/textureheight);
			GL11.glVertex2f(x+imagewidth,y+imageheight);
			GL11.glTexCoord2f(0, imageheight/textureheight);
			GL11.glVertex2f(x,y+imageheight);
		GL11.glEnd();
    }

Which makes everything the right size and eliminates the black space... except now the images are distorted horribly beyond recognition. An example: an image of blue-and-white clouds becomes a block of one solid color.

So basically my problem is this: I have a 300x100 png image that i want to put on the screen exactly as-is with no extra black space added. How can I do this?

Indignation211

Ok I tried to take the easy way out and just make the .png files 512x128, place the 300x100 image in the top left corner and just leave the remaining space as transparent pixels. After saving I confirmed that the rest of the file is indeed transparent. I also returned my render() method to its "normal" state:
public void render(){
        texture.bind();
        GL11.glBegin(GL11.GL_QUADS);
                        //Top-left corner
			GL11.glTexCoord2f(0.0f, 0.0f);
			GL11.glVertex2f(x, y);
                        //Top-right corner
			GL11.glTexCoord2f(1.0f, 0.0f);
			GL11.glVertex2f(x+texturewidth, y);