Hello Guest

LWJGL with OpenGL 3.x++

• 9 Replies
LWJGL with OpenGL 3.x++
« on: May 22, 2011, 09:11:04 »
Hello,
I recently started reading into OpenGL.
At first I started reading the RedBook, which is pretty interesting and I'm really making progress.
But after some additional reading I noticed that most of the stuff I was learning is now outdated due to the release of OpenGL 3.x etc.
I tried searching for some Material on 3.x and had a very hard time to find anything that helped me. In addition to that, there seems to be nothing on LWJGL with 3.x? As a beginner, I'm have big problems translating 3.x tutorials in C++ to Java and LWJGL.

Can anyone recommend some reading about this topic? Or would you think it's best to go in with the RedBook?
Thank you very much, any information is appreciated :)

Offline spasi

• WebHotelier
Re: LWJGL with OpenGL 3.x++
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 10:55:49 »
These days it would be best if you read a book on the theory of 3D graphics rendering instead of something specific to OpenGL, especially a book written pre-3.0. It's also best if you avoid anything marked as deprecated in the OpenGL spec, or simply use the core version of the spec. I can imagine that for someone new to OpenGL it can be frustrating and confusing to have to learn about VBOs, vertex shaders and fragment shaders before even drawing a single pixel to the screen, but with OpenGL ES 2.0 and WebGL (which don't have the deprecated functionality) being so popular these days, there are dozens of examples on the web to get you started.

About LWJGL, you should look for code samples (even pre-3.0 stuff) to get familiar with how NIO buffers are used in the API. That's the only real difference between C and Java code and it's very straightforward if you get used to it. Porting any C/C++ code will be easy then (even Direct3D samples when you get familiar with shading languages).

Finally, read this post on JGO, the OpenGL Samples Pack should be helpful.