Hello Guest

The uttmost step 1?

• 11 Replies
The uttmost step 1?
« on: February 28, 2011, 22:24:31 »
Hello All.
Intro.
I'm not a programmer, but I would like to be. For the past 7 years I've been a level designer in the source engine, so I have a lot of experience in game design.... Just not the programming side.

Question.
So,(For the past month) I've been running around in this huge world of Java trying to find the starting point for building a 3d engine. Every time I think I've found it, the tutorials start talking about something they never taught me, so I continue my search for the beginning.
I understood from the beginning that building a 3d engine is no easy task, and I boarder on the edge of stupidity for asking this kind of question.
And I now understand that the java language is a huge world all in it's own.

But can anyone throw me a link to that special place where it explains the most basic of things?
Like... a wiki for words. Something to tell me everything there is to know about the word "Method" or "class" or "Syntax"
The problem I am running into (I think) is that I am not finding a place to teach me the very most basic stuff. The meanings of key words. The way the computer is seeing the code. The reason commands and key words do things. etc etc....

Goal:
I've foolishly got the idea in my head that I might be able to learn how to program an engine. Not an advanced engine of any kind. Basically all I'm shooting for right now is to be able to walk over to a cube, and press the use key to make it disappear. Or walk up to it, press the use key, and a different cube appears.... just I/O work.

How basic is this?
http://java.sun.com/developer/onlineTraining/java3d/j3d_tutorial_ch1.pdf
Is J3D a good thing to start with?

Offline kappa

Re: The uttmost step 1?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2011, 22:33:29 »
Java3D is basically dead, its not a project i'd recommend you pursue.