A LongTerm Java Venture

Started by EmperorJon, April 15, 2011, 17:47:00

Previous topic - Next topic

EmperorJon

Ok, well, first post here.

I have some programming experience. But not in Java. I wish to make a game in Java, and I wish to use OpenGL, so LWJGL seemed like a good idea to use. I've yet to download it and get started, because I wish to ask a few questions first. (BTW, I'm willing to spend a long time learning, so I'm ok with throwing myself in the deep end.)

(Warning, I've done not much background research, possible obvious questions...)

1. Are there any nice tutorials out there for me to set up a 3D 'world' and start applying textures. (Start with the graphics, add some actual coding in later)
2. Does it include basically everything I'd need to get started with Java coding along with all the libraries?
3. Er... I was going to ask something else.

Oh well.

Thanks in adv.
Please don't go all 'Oh you should get started on something simpler/not 3D/not using OpenGL etc. etc. I'm willing to persevere.

CodeBunny

Glad to know you're interested in Java and LWJGL! Both are pretty awesome for a lot of reasons.

It's good that you're willing to take a long time; trust me, that's what will happen. However, since you accept it, you now are able to relax and not worry about how long things are taking! :D

1: The "standard" recommendation is the NeHe tutorial set, they're a bit old and written in C but they cover the basics of OpenGL very well (additionally, a lot of the code has been ported to a lot of languages, so you can usually find examples in LWJGL). And you'll actually want to begin with straight code and then transition into using ported models, etc. Things will go faster in the long run.