Texture doesnt match in size [SOLVED]

Started by daniel_nieto, February 25, 2011, 07:25:27

Previous topic - Next topic

daniel_nieto

i'm a newbie in OpenGL and I use SlickUtil to load a texture and binding it to a quad (to make it look like a 2D sprite), but the texture doesnt seem to fill the whole quad, the image is PNG with transparency, it is 200x200, so i draw a quad of this size, but the texture seems to be 256x256 when i load it, so it shrinks to "fit" my quad, and the result is a 200x200 quad with a small texture on it, i post an image to show you how it looks, i disabled GL_BLEND so you can see the texture without transparency... it should be just the ball inside a white plane, but as you can see it's not. What can I do to fix this problem with my 2D sprites?

ouattwtym

I know why, I think. Slick contains this code in InternalTextureLoader

/**
     * Get the closest greater power of 2 to the fold number
     * @param fold The target number
     * @return The power of 2
     */
    public static int get2Fold(int fold) {
        int ret = 2;
        while (ret < fold) {
            ret *= 2;
        }
        return ret;
    } 

which gets called when the texture is made

// produce a texture from the byte buffer
        GL.glTexImage2D(target, 
                      dstPixelFormat, 
                      get2Fold(width), 
                      get2Fold(height), 
                      srcPixelFormat, 
                      SGL.GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, 
                      textureBuffer);

so your 200 pixel 2D sprite becomes a 256 pixel texture.

It is a requirement, at least on old graphics hardware, that all textures had "two to the power something" width and height and Slick enforces this for you.

Knowing this you'd need to paint your quad using only to top corner of your texture. I'm a big OpenGL noob myself though so can't advise how but maybe someone else can ...

jediTofu