Vertex array object and unexpected behavior

Started by jon291, November 18, 2010, 09:48:59

Previous topic - Next topic

jon291

The problem I have is with what the program reports for the currently bound vertex buffer object (vbo) and element array buffer (eab) and whether an error is generated when I call glDrawElements.  To be clear, my code can render correctly, but I'm not sure why I have to make the method calls that I do to get it to render correctly.  The behavior I'm observing just plain doesn't make sense to me, but since this is my first time working with vertex array objects (vao) it could be that I just misunderstand something about how they work.  If it isn't clear what the issue might be from what I described below, I can provide the actual code in a follow up post.

When constructing the vao, I start with nothing bound, then bind the vao and then the vbo and eab.  After doing all the glVertexAttribPointer and glEnableVertexAttribArray calls, I unbind the vao.  Immediately after this initialization, the program enters a rendering loop.  I start by checking which buffers are currently bound with the following line:
System.out.println(GL11.glGetInteger(GL15.GL_ARRAY_BUFFER_BINDING)+", "+GL11.glGetInteger(GL15.GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER_BINDING));

The output of this line gives a non-zero int for the array buffer binding and zero for the eab binding, which I presume means I have a vbo bound but no eab.  This makes sense to me because the specs say the vbo is not affected by binding/unbinding of the vao, but the eab binding is carried with the vao.  I then bind the vao and run the same check and get non-zero ints for both bindings, which is again what I would expect and should indicate I have an eab bound now.