This is harder than it looks!!

Started by darkprophet, November 17, 2003, 21:37:24

Previous topic - Next topic

darkprophet

hi everyone,
I have just got fed up with Java2D and its "slowness" so to speak, so Ive decided to join you lovely bunch of people.

I basically have absolutely no idea on where to start!! so if anyone, please, give me some direction, i would be more than abliged. Thanks

PlanetMongo

I'm a newbie and here's what I'm basically doing:
prep:  Teaching myself java.  :)  I'm actually going through Head First Java and find it pretty decent.  Beginning Java2 from Ivor Horton is also good, and Thinking in Java by Bruce Eckel is supposedly really good, but I find as he revises his text more and more, it gets to be a bit more unmanageable.  For instance, in his sample code, while I understand why he does it, you'll have 2 or 3 pages of asserts, which to me obscures the actual concepts that you're trying to learn.  I suppose he does it to try and get you used to unit testing and what not, but I find it bothersome to read through.

1)  Download lwjgl and make sure you can run the demos.
2)  Download the Nehe tutorials from the same site, then head on over to nehe.gamedev.net for the "read through" (I've actually considered interposing the actual tutorial text, changed for lwjgl/java, though, in the comments of the code.. that way the tuturial resides in the source and is easier than trying to read code, flip to nehe if explanation is necessary.. Basically, really in-depth commenting.. :) )
3)  Once you get the hang of the ported NeHe stuff, try porting tutorials 11-newest yourself.   Also, try and find the OpenGL red book online and see if you can port that stuff, too.