Input lag

Started by W3bbo, March 12, 2010, 03:30:38

Previous topic - Next topic

W3bbo

I'm a LWJGL newbie and just investigating it for emergency/contingency use in a coursework project that went titsup after half the team went AWOL (and the deadline's 12 days away!)

Anyway, back to the topic:

I've been toying with various LWJGL samples and FOSS projects, including Space Invaders and Starship2D, and one thing I kept on noticing was the input lag from my cursor to the on-screen results. I'm running XPx64 (though the 32-bit JVM) on an Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450, and Task Manager reports none of the javaw instances consume more than 10% of each core on my system, so it isn't my system that's lagging it down.

Is the lag inherently in LWJGL? I couldn't find any code in the Space Invaders or Starship2D code to suggest delays were intentionally added.

Can anyone reproduce or otherwise explain the issue?

Matzon

Unless you're using the Hardware Cursor, then you will be drawing it yourself - which means that its fixed to the frames per second your games does. For the best experience, you should use the hardware cursor - but it doesn't allow you to do AS fancy things that you can do when you render it yourself.

check http://lwjgl.org/jnlp/lwjgl-demo.php/test.input.HWCursorTest

Fool Running

If you are using the hardware cursor and you are still getting lag between when your cursor moves somewhere over the game view to the time the game responds, then you should make sure that you don't have a render-ahead option enabled in your video card settings.
I don't remember exactly what the option is called, but I know that NVidia drivers default to rendering 3 frames ahead (which means that after you make an action, there will be at least another 3 frames before it is shown on screen).
Programmers will, one day, rule the world... and the world won't notice until its too late.Just testing the marquee option ;D

princec