Getting fragment shader to work

Started by Appelmoes123, January 13, 2010, 09:52:46

Previous topic - Next topic

Appelmoes123

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to shaders, so I am in need of some help here.
What I'm trying to accomplish (at first) is applying a simple fragment shader. I have been able to get this to work with JOGL but I would prefer to use LWJGL for it's added functionality.

I've made a minimal test project which uses lwjgl 2.2.1 to run:

import java.io.BufferedReader;
import java.io.FileNotFoundException;
import java.io.FileReader;
import java.io.IOException;
import java.io.UnsupportedEncodingException;
import java.nio.ByteBuffer;
import java.nio.IntBuffer;

import org.lwjgl.BufferUtils;
import org.lwjgl.LWJGLException;
import org.lwjgl.input.Keyboard;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.ARBFragmentShader;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.ARBShaderObjects;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.Display;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.DisplayMode;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.Util;
import org.lwjgl.util.glu.GLU;

public class Main {

private DisplayMode	mode;
	private int shaderProgram = 0;

public static void main(String[] args) {
		new Main().run();
	}

public Main() {
		try {

mode = findDisplayMode(1024, 768, Display.getDisplayMode().getBitsPerPixel());
			Display.setDisplayModeAndFullscreen(mode);
			Display.create();

GL11.glDisable(GL11.GL_DEPTH_TEST);

GL11.glViewport( 0, 0, mode.getWidth(), mode.getHeight() );

GL11.glMatrixMode(GL11.GL_PROJECTION);
			GL11.glLoadIdentity();
			GLU.gluOrtho2D(0, mode.getWidth(), mode.getHeight(), 0);

GL11.glMatrixMode(GL11.GL_MODELVIEW);
			GL11.glLoadIdentity();
			GL11.glTranslatef(0.375f, 0.375f, 0f);

GL11.glClearColor(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

} catch (LWJGLException e) {
		}

}

public void run() {

while (!Keyboard.isKeyDown(Keyboard.KEY_ESCAPE) && !Display.isCloseRequested()) {

if (Display.isVisible()) {
				draw();
			} else {
				if (Display.isDirty())		draw();

try {	Thread.sleep(100);