Can I create a separate thread for initializations?

Started by manji, September 29, 2009, 11:47:45

Previous topic - Next topic

manji

I am a complete noob when it comes to multithreading, but after struggling with it for a bit, I came upon this problem. In my game, I need to load some images, sounds and models, and then render the game. I would like to be able to show a loading screen while these initializations take place. As I found out, in LWJGL(and openGL), the various GL commands must occur always in the same thread, the same thread you created the display.
So my question is: How can I create a separate thread for the initialization part, considering that this part uses GL commands? I tried to put almost my whole program in a thread(except from the display stuff), but I had a NullPointerException exception at the first OpenGL command.
toyWars game blog: http://toywars.wordpress.com/

Kai

QuoteSo my question is: How can I create a separate thread for the initialization part, considering that this part uses GL commands? I tried to put almost my whole program in a thread(except from the display stuff), but I had a NullPointerException exception at the first OpenGL command.

Hi,

the NPE is due to the fact that the calling thread did not own the GL context (the context was not 'current' for that thread).
Initially, the context is made current by Display.create() for the calling thread.

If you want to do some resource loading which involves GL commands and simultaneously display a progress bar, you would have to split up the whole resource loading work into separate "tasks". Otherwise you wouldn't be able to tell the progress anyways.
Then, whenever one tasks ended, you would update the progress (as a "float" or something like that) and trigger a refresh of the rendered status bar.