Netbeans, LWJGL, Java2D, JOPS, OpenGL

Started by Gheta, August 02, 2009, 02:08:35

Previous topic - Next topic

Gheta

Hello, I'm a new game programmer and I'm in a bit of a tight situation and need some help/ideas.

I have been making a space game using Netbeans and Swing/AWT/Java2D. I have JLabels with the space crafts in them flying around on a JPanel. I have gotten past loads of crazy formulas with success and I was just about to move on to Particle Engines for flames and weapons. Sadly Particle Engines seems to suck in Java2D and there are no Java2D Particle Editors around anymore.

Then I found JOPS, Java Open Particle System that apparently works with LWJGL and OpenGL, 3D in Java. Then I searched around and found that you really can't mix Java2D with LWJGL 3D well. I see things like, why work in Java2D when you can just do OpenGL and work 2D in that way? So I've set up Netbeans to work with LWJGL and OpenGL, but I'm having a lot of questions.

Can't I just create a GLCanvus underneath my transparent JPanel and work that way? using the JPanel for the JLabels holding the ships and the GLCanvus to have my weapons/lasers/shipjetfire?

Do I need to have a GameWindow instead of Netbeans Frame I'm using?

Do I need to translate most of the code to OpenGL/LWJGL code for it to work properly/fast?

Do I have to translate everything including AWT's KeyHandlers to LWJGL's?

Or do I have to just translate my little code using graphics g g2d transformations?

Then my last question might be a little harder here. I created ops, that is, cool particle effects on Java Open Particle System, they were saved in their .ops file format. How can I implement that into OpenGL under my ships on their coordinates?

Gheta

Sorry for the double post.