Why Buffers over Arrays?

Started by thinker, October 14, 2003, 17:44:05

Previous topic - Next topic

thinker

Forgive me if this has been talked about before, i did a search and could not come up with anything on point.

I'm new to LWJGL and looking at it now for the first time. While going over the NeHe ports (Great btw, please do more!) i saw that all OpenGL commands that take in a vector as an argument accept that value as some type of Buffer here in LWJGL.

Can someone explain the design decision and performance impact of this to me? At first glance it seems strange to pass in Buffers for what is more easily done as an array.

Why do these methods not simply accept an array? Don't Buffers take more time and memory to allocate for small structures like { x, y, z } ?

Must they be memory mapped Buffers?

Is there a performance gain (or degradation) in using Buffers to pass small amounts of data like used in glLightfv()?

Do you advise using Buffers for all areas of code instead of arrays in general? or should i be using arrays internally and then converting them to Buffers when i want to pass them to the OpenGL calls? This seems like a waste of time and memory to me, but I don’t know as much as you guys so please explain.

Any insight/guidance here would be great
thinker

elias

The explanation is slightly complex, but it involves the way java data structures are accessed from the native layer - the layer that communicates with OpenGL. The short story is that java arrays have a larger overhead than buffers. We could accept arrays, but chose not to because we want people to use the maximal performance alternative and we want the library to be simple.