Hello Guest

FBO and OpenGL

• 19 Replies
FBO and OpenGL
« on: June 17, 2009, 12:11:36 »
Hiiiii guys.. I am a noob to OpenGL Programming.. However, I am stuck with a project where in i need to use FBOs.. Please can you provide me code fragments of using FBOs as render targets(say u draw a triangle in it attaching shaders) and display the FBO on the screen(using it as texture ??).. please clarify... thanks..  :)

Kai

Re: FBO and OpenGL
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2009, 16:53:00 »
Hi,

you ask for much more than can be explained in a single post, so I suggest you to have a look at http://www.songho.ca/opengl/gl_fbo.html.
It provides good explanation of this topic as well as a sample project in C++.

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2009, 19:04:31 »
Thanks for the reply. However, the problem is i am stuck with the programming part. Please explain. Thanks. I want to draw a triangle in a FBO and show it on the screen. How do i achieve this ??

Kai

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2009, 20:25:25 »
Things to do in order:
- Create texture with glGenTextures
- Create FBO with glGenFramebuffersEXT
- "Activate" FBO with glBindFramebufferEXT
- Attach texture to FBO with glFramebufferTexture2DEXT
- Check FBO status with glCheckFramebufferStatusEXT
- Draw a triangle (you should know how to do that, at least)
- "Deactivate" FBO with glBindFramebufferEXT (set buffer id to 0)
- Bind texture with glBindTexture
- Draw a textured quad (with texturing (2D) enabled and assigned texture co-ordinates)

If you are new to OpenGL, as you said, and don't know DirectX either, I suggest you first start to learn the "basics" of OpenGL before struggling with FBOs and such, because you would not learn much from posted source code that was given to you in order to work as a copy-and-paste solution.

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2009, 08:16:42 »