Hello Guest

Question about mouse input

• 6 Replies
« on: October 13, 2003, 13:35:14 »
Hi people!

First hello to all - this is my first post on this forum.

I'm a kind of a newbie both to this forum & to lwjgl; so I have some questions - hope someone have patience to read & maybe answer =).

lwjgl seems promising to me; it's quite easy and little api, so I like it so long, especially since I'm looking for api that depends as little as possible on awt & swing.
For now I have done just those simple nehe demos that comes with lwjgl and wrote some own simple demos to learn more about lwjgl

but since I have mostly been programming on a bit higher level of abstraction I have a little problem to understand some details especially about polling mouse =) - ehm; so here is my question:

1) how do u use mouse? since lwjgl Mouse gives you input as a change in coordinates since last time - how can I get position in window? I want to program some widgets and will need to develop some techinque for picking, so I need to understand how can I convert deltas to some coordinates either relative to Window or to screen coordinates. I know this is lame newbie question but I really don't understand what ones get from mouse dx & dy. For example when mouse enters lwjgl window - I must somehow get coordinates to start tracking from - so how do I get those? Does mouse track in lwjgl window coordinates or screen coordinates .... ehh - by now you probably understan what I don't understand =)

I have some other questions too:

2) is anyone tried to use awtevents with lwjgl? Is there anyway to add some event listeners and dispatchers to lwjgl? Theoretically it should be possible, to develop some kind of "container" or "component" (not those that comes with awt, but to develop such from scratch for use with lwjgl) and add a listener to it and later use it with lwjgl window.

3) what is procedure for compiling lwjgl &what are other dependences to java features?