porting my project from JOGL to LWJGL - Display.update() error

Started by Eternity, November 21, 2008, 08:31:42

Previous topic - Next topic

Eternity

hey.

i'm completely new to lwjgl and ive been strugling since monday to port over my 7000 line project from jogl. i think i got most of it right but i have 2 big issues atm. 1. display.update() always generates a org.lwjgl.opengl.OpenGLException: Invalid enum (1280). and 2. if i dont do all opengl calls in the same thread i get Nullpointer exceptions, i would like to for instance load VBO's and textures in a thread thats separate from the thread the renders the scene

thnx

Eternity

ok i just found the method to make the context current on a specific thread so thats sorted now my only problem is the fact the Display.update() generates above mentioned error

wolf_m

Quote from: Eternity on November 21, 2008, 08:31:42
1. display.update() always generates a org.lwjgl.opengl.OpenGLException: Invalid enum (1280).
You need to check for GL errors explicitly to find out what went wrong, and that directly after you do stuff.
Otherwise, you always get the errors at update().

So we can't tell you what went wrong here. You need to check for GL errors after your individual GL statements.

That slows the whole stuff down - once everything works, delete the error checks again.

You can get errors with GL11.glGetError().
and 2. if i dont do all opengl calls in the same thread i get Nullpointer exceptions, i would like to for instance load VBO's and textures in a thread thats separate from the thread the renders the scene
If you're in a different thread, you have to switch to the context of your rendering Display to load stuff for it.
http://lwjgl.org/wiki/doku.php/lwjgl/tutorials/changingcontexts

Or you could theoretically share lists, I don't know whether that's implemented though - I never looked into it.

Matzon

the enum issue is because you *somewhere* in your code are using an invalid enum to pass to a method.