Extreme newbie alert: using lwjgl with Eclipse

Started by teamonkey, September 12, 2003, 20:46:02

Previous topic - Next topic

teamonkey

Hello. I'd like to introduce myself. I'm teamonkey from yakyak.org.

I'm pretty new to the whole Java thing, and I've only just got my hands on Eclipse and lwjgl. Can someone please tell me how to link lwjgl into my Java projects? I get a
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.source.path

Can anyone help? I know it's a pretty fundamental thing...

Cheers :D
teamonkey]

princec

Hi teamonkey! Welcome to a slightly less fluffy forum!

It's dead easy: Java needs to know where to pick up DLLs from, every time it's executed. There are several ways but the most sensible way is to use an argument when invoking programs:

java -Djava.library.path=<path to your lwjgl.dll> -cp etc etc etc

In Eclipse, that's in the Run... menu, Program Arguments tab. Just add a -Djava.library.path=<wherever> and you're laughing.

Cas :)

teamonkey

Thanks princec!

It took me far too long to realise that it was a .dll problem :oops:

I fixed the problem by putting the .dlls in the Windows/System32 directory, but thanks for telling me how to do it properly.
teamonkey]

PlanetMongo

Hrm..

Okay, I'm trying to get lwjgl up and running with eclipse (have been using textpad) and am experiencing some difficulty...
I've added c:\lwjgl\lwjgl-0.8-win32\ to my CLASSPATH variable..
I've copied all the .dll's and .jar's to c:\windows\system32 and c:\j2sdk1.4.2\bin and \lib
(in attempts to resolve this)
I've also gone into Run->Arguments and added
-Djava.library.path=c:\lwjgl\lwjgl-0.8-win32\

Now, in Eclipse, I'm trying to do this:
import org.lwjgl.*;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.*;
import org.lwjgl.input.*;