Performance issues

Started by laginimaineb, May 27, 2007, 19:57:03

Previous topic - Next topic

laginimaineb

Hello, I am very new to LWJGL and OpenGL which is why I am using two classes called BigTexture and SmallTexture to manage all of my textures (sources attached - thanks to vermin exterminator). Anyway, I just created a small app to check how many FPS I can get to. In the example I have one BigTexture whose size is 1600x1600 and one SmallTexture whose size is 32x32. Anyway, I am only getting 34-33 FPS which probably means I am doing something really really wrong. Perhaps it is something with the BigTexture and SmallTexture classes. I would like to hear somebody's opinion  :)

P.S - I am running the application on a 3.1 GHz processor with Ge-Force FX 5200.

With Thanks,
laginimaineb.

Orangy Tang

Er, why have different classes for BigTexture and SmallTexture? Can't you just use a single Texture class which can handle mulitple sizes?

Regardless, the speed problems are likely from your big texture. 1600x1600 is a horrible size for a texture. For best results texture sizes should be power-of-two in size (eg. 256x256, 1024x1024), non-power-of-two texture are either unsupported on some hardware, or, in your case, run much slower.

laginimaineb

Hey, sorry I forgot to mention, the BigTexture class actually breaks up the texture into tiles which are sized by powers of two. Anyway, you mentioned 1600x1600 is too big for a texture, which leads me to my next question - if so then what should I do in order to draw the background terrain? (I'm working on a 2D-shooter).

With Thanks,
laginimaineb.

bobjob

just curious, do you know how display lists work?

if not that could be a way to dramatically increase performance. i dont understand why you are getting such a performce hit after your splitting the image like that.

laginimaineb