Screen Picking help *CHANGED*

Started by white_dot1, February 19, 2007, 20:51:41

Previous topic - Next topic

white_dot1

I apologize if this problem was already answered, or is incredibly simple.  I'm new to lwjgl, but programmed opengl in C++ for a little while now.  I never did screen picking with c++ but I'm trying for the first time with java.  I'm using SWT GLCanvas for drawing, and have the rendering in a seperate thread.  The code supposedly executes, and I get the correct number of hits, but the values in the selection buffer are WAY off.  When I use 0 and -1 for the glLoadName() it works, I get those values back correctly, but everything else I get huge numbers, both positive and negative, and I have no clue why.  Any and all help would be apprecaited!

protected Point pickLocation(int x, int y) {
		y = this.getSize().y - y;
		int[] view = new int[4];
		int buffer[] = new int[256];
		IntBuffer selBuf = ByteBuffer.allocateDirect(64).order(ByteOrder.nativeOrder()).asIntBuffer();
	    selBuf.order();
	    GL11.glGetInteger(GL11.GL_VIEWPORT, selBuf);
        selBuf.get(view);
        selBuf = ByteBuffer.allocateDirect(1024).asIntBuffer();
        selBuf.clear();
		GL11.glSelectBuffer(selBuf);

//Set render to select mode for picking
        GL11.glRenderMode(GL11.GL_SELECT);

GL11.glInitNames();                                              // Initializes The Name Stack
        GL11.glPushName(0);

GL11.glMatrixMode(GL11.GL_PROJECTION);                       // Selects The Projection Matrix
        GL11.glPushMatrix();     									// Push The Projection Matrix
        GL11.glLoadIdentity();

GLU.gluPickMatrix(x, y, rng, rng, view);
        GLU.gluPerspective(45.0f, (float) (view[2] - view[0]) / (float) (view[3] - view[1]), 0.1f, 250.0f);
        GL11.glMatrixMode(GL11.GL_MODELVIEW);                                 // Select The Modelview Matrix
        //GL11.glLoadIdentity();

drawBoard(0,0);