LWJGL Static Methods

Started by Illuvian, November 16, 2006, 20:30:27

Previous topic - Next topic

Illuvian

I'm new to LWJGL. I've done some Java allready and have worked with JOGL a little bit. I got this one question about LWJGL. Why are all methods static ?
In JOGl, they aren't, you first use Gl gl =  getAutoDrawable.getGL() or something like that. After that, you use gl.glVertex3f() for example.

numberR

i think the one of reasons why all gl functions are static is for performance.
another reason, i think, is how OpenGL is designed.
OpenGL is so structured and not object-oriented, it fits with static methods in Java.

cool thing about jogl, even though i'm not super familiar with it, is that it wraps all gl functions to object so we can take object-oriented approach (passing GL object for example).
it's also good that it encapsulates OpenGL context, so you can switch OpenGL contexts depending up on which GL object to invoke gl functions on (i could be wrong here due to lack of knowledge of jogl).

Illuvian

So actually, JOGL fits more with Java than LWJGL ?

Matzon

OpenGL is a c library, that is no classes, only functions and structs.
LWJLG's OpenGL implementation just mimmics this behaviour so you will be able to do:
import static org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11.*
and then write code that looks mostly like its c counterpart.
We also have an GL object if you *really* have to in org.lwjgl.util.GL

I'm not sure whether jogl actually has any context management in regards to having two contexts, I am fairly sure that you still have to make one of them current?

aldacron

Quote from: "Illuvian"So actually, JOGL fits more with Java than LWJGL ?

What does that mean? Java allows static methods, yes? They are just two different design methodologies. Neither "fits" with Java more than the other.