Using odd-sized textures

Started by kstenerud, December 21, 2005, 06:48:16

Previous topic - Next topic

kstenerud

I'm a bit new to OpenGL and so this will probably be one of those newbie mistakes.

I'm writing an emulator in Java, and I'm having trouble setting up a system to handle sprites.
The various games I'm emulating have 8x8, 16x16, 24x24 sized sprites and so on (haven't even gotten to the non-square sprites yet!)

The problem is, how do I get something like 24x24 pixel data onto a texture, and correctly rendered to a surface?
Stretching the image to 32x32 is not an option since the emulated graphics engine may change the sprite contents on the fly.

I currently take the closest square (in this case 32x32) and then the emulator only writes in the top-left corner of the texture.  However, when I try to render my scene with a 24x24 unit square, I get a slightly squashed image in the top-left corner (as would be expected, since my original texture data is not 32x32).

I figured I could just get the size ratio and use that in the glTexCoord2f method, but it seems to only like 1.0f or 0.0f.

Is there some other way to get the "in-use" portion of the texture to take up the whole quad surface?

I currently wrap the texture with these hints:
       GL.glTexParameteri(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL11.GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL12.GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE);
       GL.glTexParameteri(GL11.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL11.GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL12.GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE);

Maybe there's some other wrap method that I can use?

Any help appreciated  :o

spasi

Quote from: "kstenerud"I figured I could just get the size ratio and use that in the glTexCoord2f method, but it seems to only like 1.0f or 0.0f.

That's the standard way to do it actually. Why do say that it only likes 1.0f or 0.0f? What's the problem exactly? Maybe you're confused by OpenGL's lower-left coordinate origin?