Problem with seeing through textures with alpha

Started by isaacais, April 25, 2013, 23:10:01

Previous topic - Next topic

isaacais

I am new to this forums, but I am not new to Java, and I have been working with LWJGL for around 2 months.  I am making a Minecraft clone right now, and I have found a problem that I can't seem to figure out.  I am rendering leaves, which are see through.  They are not looking the way I want them to look in some places.  The best explanations are shown through screenshots.  Here are some examples of the problems:

Notice how there are strips of the color of the sky when you look through see-through blocks.

This is what a block looks like through the ground when you look in the opposite direction.  You can see other sides besides the top side of the block.  There aren't any strips of the sky's color either.  At the bottom right you can see part of a strip of the sky's color.

This is another problem, you can see a face of a block through one texture, but not the other.

I have been trying to figure this problem out for around a week, so I came to this forum to see if I could get any help from experts.  Does anyone have any idea why this is happening to me?  Thanks for the help!

quew8

We are probably going to need some more information. (You have no idea how much better it is to read code than make random lunges into the cold dark). Specifically the code encompassing: setting up OpenGl state, rendering, any hidden face removal you may do (and maybe any other rendering optimizations you do) shaders if you use them.
Also personally, I'm not sure I quite understand your first problem (you're sure you mean transparent and not translucent?). As far as minecraft is concerned, I would expect to see patches of sky looking through a leaves block.

broumbroum