Clipping part of a texture

Started by Taien, April 28, 2013, 02:26:19

Previous topic - Next topic

Taien

Hey guys, first post :) 

So I've been working on a 2D game to "get my feet wet," so to speak, and I'm having a bit of trouble with textures.  I understand that lwjgl can only handle square textures with a size that is an exponent of 2.  So in order to get accurate hit detection on objects (without the empty space surrounding the object counting as part of it) I'm trying to draw textures with that section clipped out, which in theory shouldn't be too hard.  This seems easier to me than trying to compare each pixel to determine touches.

My problem is this:  when I draw the texture and only draw to a certain clipping of it, I'm clipping the stuff from the wrong corner.  I realize of course that this is entirely because I'm new to this point-drawing stuff and I'm clipping the wrong points in order to get my final product.  But no matter how much I mess with it, I can't get it to clip the correct part of the texture. 

Here's my initGL (I'm drawing with 0,0 as the top left corner):

{
		glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
		glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION); //projection mode (stretches stuff)
		glLoadIdentity(); //clear projection matrix
		glOrtho(0,Display.getWidth(),Display.getHeight(),0,-1,1); //orthographic view (2d) ...x,width,y,height,z,depth
		glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW); //modelview mode (draws shapes)
		glClearColor(0f,0f,0f,1f); //sets transparency color to full black
		glEnable(GL_BLEND);
    	glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);
		glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST); //disregards information pertinent to 3D only
	}

Here's the method I'm trying to use to clip with (currently, I've messed with it a lot so it might be completely wrong):
public static void rect2Dclipped(float x, float y, float w, float h, Texture t)
	{
		glPushMatrix(); //creates a matrix for this code alone instead of all code being in the same matrix
		{
			glTranslatef(x,y,0); //shifts drawing