Rendering a triangle using a perspective projection matrix

Started by BobbyLeChimp, June 07, 2015, 09:46:07

Previous topic - Next topic

BobbyLeChimp

Hallo everyone,

I have to admit that I am fairly new to LWJGL and just started with version 3.
I followed along a few getting started tutorials including the one from the lwjgl wiki, goharsha.com and the (in my opinion) excellent video tutorials by the cherno project(especially the maths part).

While I think I do undestand the math behind the projection matrix I can`t seem to get it to work.
While my triangle renders fine without the uniforms apllied to the vector position in the vertex shader, it seems to disappear when I apply it.

My workflow is as follows:

I create the window, callbacks, context etc. in the init method, create the vertex array object and the buffer object, create the shader program, link it and finally apply the unifroms:

private void init() {
		// set ErrorCallback
		// initialize GLFW
		// set windowhints
		// create the window
		// set KeyCallback
		// create the context  / "make it current"

// //////////////////////////
		// create a vertex array object
		vao = glGenVertexArrays();
		glBindVertexArray(vao);

// create a Buffer to store the vertex
		FloatBuffer verticesBuffer = BufferUtils
				.createFloatBuffer(createTriangle().length);
		verticesBuffer.put(createTriangle()).flip();

// ////////////////////////////
		// create a vertex buffer object
		vbo = glGenBuffers();
		glBindBuffer(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, vbo);
		glBufferData(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, verticesBuffer, GL_STATIC_DRAW);

// ////////////////////////////
		// create a new shaderProgram
		shaderProgram = new shaderProgram();
		// create the shaders
		shaderProgram.attachVertexShader("Game/Shaders/vertexShader.txt");
		shaderProgram.attachFragmentShader("Game/Shaders/fragmentShader.txt");
		// link the shaderprogram with the shaders
		shaderProgram.link();
		// get the programID
		shaderID = shaderProgram.getShaderID();

//uniforms