LWJGL Forum

Programming => Lightweight Java Gaming Library => Topic started by: mkienenb on April 21, 2004, 18:46:46

Title: "Could not choose ARB pixel formats." for RADEON 7
Post by: mkienenb on April 21, 2004, 18:46:46
I'm getting the error "Could not choose ARB pixel formats." for the ATI RADEON 7200 AGP (QD) card under windows 2000 using the jME library and lwjlg 0.9.  I've tried it with a variety of resolutions, bit depths, and windowed/fullscreen modes.

Here's the code as well as an example of the calling parameters.

Window.create(title, x, y, width, height, bpp, alphaBits, depthBits, stencilBits, samples);

Code: [Select]

 title=
 x=320
 y=272
 width=640
 height=480
 bpp=16
 alphaBits=0
 depthBits=8
 stencilBits=0
 samples=0

 org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not choose ARB pixel formats.
         at org.lwjgl.opengl.Window.nCreate(Native Method)
         at org.lwjgl.opengl.Window.createWindow(Unknown Source)
         at org.lwjgl.opengl.Window.create(Unknown Source)


Thanks,

Mike
Title: "Could not choose ARB pixel formats." for RADEON 7
Post by: cfmdobbie on April 21, 2004, 19:48:09
That's a pretty fatal error message.  Are you running the latest drivers?  Also, if you have access to it, try asking for a different combination of colour/depth/alpha/stencil/samples in the Window.create() call, to see if that will help.  But I don't know jME - this may not be possible for you to influence.


Another one of ATI's "declare the extension but don't support it" issues, maybe?  On the native side, calling GetLastError() should give more information about the failure - maybe this could be used to construct a more helpful error message?  I can't seem to find a list of error codes, though...

Anyway, the failure is in findPixelFormatARB().  Is there a reason to go through that process if samples is zero?  Avoiding it would at least limit the problem to only those who request multisampling.
Title: "Could not choose ARB pixel formats." for RADEON 7
Post by: mkienenb on April 21, 2004, 20:30:10
Thanks!

I feel stupid because upgrading to the latest drivers did indeed fix the problem.   I guess it was a "it used to be broken but now it's fixed" ATI issue.

-Mike