LWJGL Forum

Programming => Bug Reports / RFE => Topic started by: princec on November 14, 2011, 15:44:56

Title: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: princec on November 14, 2011, 15:44:56
When the mouse is used to resize the window, the application appears to "pause" rather than continuing to run. If you see what I mean.

Also, a call to setResizable(true) seems to be forgotten after a call to setDisplayModeAndFullscreen or setFullscreen.

Cas :)
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: Matzon on November 14, 2011, 20:36:07
the pause thingy is a loooong standing issue that is not easily fixed, and happens in many programs (window enters own message loop when dragging window for instance).
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: kappa on November 14, 2011, 20:42:58
also Windows specific, so shouldn't happen on Linux and Mac.
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: princec on November 16, 2011, 09:28:43
So, does anyone know how to handle it?

Cas :)
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: Matzon on November 16, 2011, 09:57:59
yes, you implement a timer to call your paint method while in this internal loop. I have tried to fix this - but never  comitted it.
The problem is that the paint logic all of a sudden will get called by another thread.
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: Matzon on November 16, 2011, 12:41:23
Talked to Evil[1] on IRC about this ... will try and implement his fix tonight ...
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: princec on November 16, 2011, 12:58:24
Running on another thread ain't ever going to fly I don't think... all manner of woes. Is your proposed fix going to stay in the same thread and do something cunning with posting events?

Cas :)
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: Matzon on November 16, 2011, 13:40:12
my fix is within the same thread - if it flies, otherwise we're semi-screwed anyway
Title: Re: [RFE] Dynamic resizing
Post by: princec on November 16, 2011, 16:12:37
There's gotta be a way to do it, coz there's loads of apps (including AWT!) that appear to be able to do it as it is.

Cas :)