cant get a 2D Camera in LWJGL working (beginner)

Started by MonsieurBlutbad, July 18, 2013, 15:11:53

Previous topic - Next topic

MonsieurBlutbad

Hi all,

I am working on a 2D Game and I try to set up a simple camera for it (just moving and zooming).
Unfortunatly, I don't get it working at all.
Since I am new to LWJGL and OpenGL in general I have no idea, if I am missing out on something very basic
or if the problem is more complex.

With my googling I found out that there are 3 approaches:
1.) Use glScalef and glTranslatef (this seems to be very easy... in theoriy...)
2.) Use gluLookAt and gluPerspective (this seems to be more sophisticated, but maybe too much for a 2D Game?)
3.) Hardcode the "camera" position and zoom level into each draw call (now that seems to be a terrible way to go, even though I am sure I could do that...)

The most effort so far I put into the glScalef and glTranslatef approach.
My code is compiling, but neither the scaling nor the translating has any
effect on the screen.

Maybe somebody can take a look at my code and help me out

So here is my code:
// called once at start
protected void create() {
      // Enable blending
      glEnable(GL_BLEND);
      glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);
   // enable textures since we're going to use these for our sprites
      glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);

// disable the OpenGL depth test since we're rendering 2D graphics
      glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
      glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
      glLoadIdentity();

glOrtho(0, WIDTH, HEIGHT, 0, -1, 1);
      glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
      glLoadIdentity();
      glViewport(0, 0, WIDTH, HEIGHT);
      // Set clear to transparent black
      glClearColor(0f, 0f, 0f, 0f);
}

// called every frame
protected void render(){
    // Clear the screen
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
    glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
    glLoadIdentity();
    float centerX = WIDTH * 0.5f;
    float centerY = HEIGHT * 0.5f;