Newbie font questions -- please help!

Started by Robin, October 08, 2004, 19:40:23

Previous topic - Next topic

Robin

Hi :)

Being a complete novice at programming in general, i've found LWJGL to be relative easy to pick up. (I come from a flash background)

That said, i'm curious as to whther it's possible to display proportional-width fonts well in LWJGL? I know that you need to create a bitmap beforehand and reference that -- but having seen Thom Wetzel's bitmap font builder which allows for the saving of font metrics in an external file -- i'm really really hoping that it can be done.

Additionally, with fonts in LWJGL (fixed-width or otherwise) is it easy to
- scale / rotate them easily in 2d?
- adjust opacity?

I've seen a number of tutorials on fonts in LWJGL, but they appear to be biased towards fixed-width outcomes.

Thanks for reading. I love everything about LWJGL so far, just this darn font thing which is getting in the way :)

princec

Fonts are actually really hard to do. But I've solved the problem completely! ... provided you can cope with a big pile of loosely connected code without any documentation :/

The code can be found at sourceforge: http://www.sf.net/projects/spgl - it's called the Shaven Puppy Game Library.

The gist of how it works is:

At development time, I use Java to render a specified font in a specified size. I draw every single glyph in the font and pack them into an image with power-of-two sized dimensions (which I guess depending on the fontsize). I record for each glyph where its physical bounds are and where its baseline coordinates are and all the other glyph metrics I get.

The clever bit is where I work out kerning. I then draw every single glyph next to every single other glyph. This takes quite a while even on a fast CPU! But currently it's the only way to find out if the advance between two glyphs is nonzero because of kerning.