Porting LWJGL to iPhone/IOS - what would need to be done?

Started by sixman9, December 07, 2012, 01:26:50

Previous topic - Next topic

sixman9

Hi,
I'm a complete LWJGL newbie. Putting aside the obvious necessity for a JVM (I'm considering Avian), what is actually needed to integrate LWJGL into OpenGL and OpenAL etc. on iPhone/IOS?

Are there any JNI-like generation tools that could help, i.e. JNAerator, Gluegen, Swig etc.

Also, this post mentions the following 9 files:

Quoteorg_lwjgl_Display.cpp
org_lwjgl_opengl_BaseGL.cpp
org_lwjgl_input_Controller.cpp
org_lwjgl_opengl_Pbuffer.cpp
org_lwjgl_input_Cursor.cpp
org_lwjgl_Sys.cpp
org_lwjgl_input_Keyboard.cpp
org_lwjgl_Window.cpp
org_lwjgl_input_Mouse.cpp

Could you explain or point me at their usage?

Thanks

Rich

Mickelukas

I'd suggest that you look into LibGDX instead of trying to port it yourself. They are currently having iOS support in the pipeline.

Mike

sixman9

Quote from: Mickelukas on December 07, 2012, 07:52:49
I'd suggest that you look into LibGDX instead of trying to port it yourself. They are currently having iOS support in the pipeline.

Mike

Hi Mike,
I appreciate your answer, and yes, I'm aware of libGDX's efforts, however, from a purely academic/theoretic perspective, it would be very interesting to me to find out what exactly would be necessary to do an IOS LWJGL port directly, using JNI etc. once again assuming a reasonably good IOS-compatible JVM were available?

An explanation of the requirements and or pros/cons would still be very useful to me.

Thanks

Rich

princec

Basically any Java file with native C code behind it would need porting, then a few new support classes to paper over the cracks. But it is all dwarfed by the inability to run a JVM on iOS in the first place and there still does not exist any reasonably sensible Java->native compiler toolchain for iOS.

Cas :)

sixman9

Quote from: princec on December 10, 2012, 08:30:03