Simulation Project and some Questions about LWJGL Features

Started by fm27, June 27, 2012, 19:37:42

Previous topic - Next topic

fm27

Hello Community!

I am working on a scientific thesis these days and I want to develop a simulation-software for small robots (lego mindstorms) driving, orientating and communicating inside a virtual 3D environment. These robots shell have actors (to perform their movement in the scene) and sensors (for their orientation in the scene).

I am a real newbie in writing simulation-programms and I have not  written a 3d-Game so far, but I want to use a 3D-(Game)-Engine/Library for my work and I am searching for an appropriate one.

1. Is is possibile to create a virtual 3D Environment including placing the robot, placing objects and texturing floor, walls and arbitary scene objects (at runntime) using LWJGL?

2. Is it possible to read values from the scene for example with LWJGL... for example
-- the color and brightness of the object which is in front of a robot
-- the distance to the next obstacle

3. Is is possible to manipulate the scene at runtime - means changing position and state of objects and robots?

4. Has LWJGL built-in collision detection (collision detection between robots and obstacles should be possible.)

5. Has LWJGL built-in physics like gravity, friction and idleness/inertia?

6. Is it possible to save the state of a scene and to load it later?

7. Are there useful tutorials or a textbook?

Do you think LWJGL would be a good choice?

Thanks in advance!

CodeBunny

I'm going to go out on a limb and say you should not be using vanilla LWJGL for this, especially if you need to be productive and get a thesis together.