Inter-Utility Class Helper Methods

Started by dstaudigel, May 30, 2007, 03:36:19

Previous topic - Next topic

dstaudigel

Hey, I'm new to Java/GL (but not to C++/GL) and ended up writing my own whole framework based on JOGL.  I implemented a number of utility classes including Vector, Quaternion, and Matrix code.  I am transitioning over to LWJGL, and prefer some things, but find a few basic things lacking.  Where are the following things:

1) Quaternion/Vector direct multiplication (so you don't have to make a new matrix, should be static Quaternion.transform(Quaternion left,Vector right,Vector dest)
2) Quaternion/Vector direct inverse multiplication (so you don't have to invert and then make a new matrix)
3) Scaled Vector addition (Dx = Vx * V2x * f), so you don't have to create a temporary vector.
4) Quaternion from Start/Finish vector
5) Matrix from quaternion (should be static Matrix(3|4)f.rotate(Matrix left,Quaternion right,Matrix dest, or Matrix(3|4)f(Quaternion copy).
6) Matrix/Quaternion from (physics) standard angular velocity vector (omega), i.e. same as axis/angle but angle is the magnitude in radians.

[EDIT: Here's another one I forgot]
7) Where are the Vector(2|3|4)d and Matrix(2,3,4)d classes?  Shouldn't the quaternion class be all doubles?  That's the way I've seen it done most of the time.  Correct me if I'm out to lunch, I do think doubles are a bit fat, but that's just what I've seen.  Also, all of the Java math commands spit out and take doubles.
[/EDIT]

There probably are more, bu these are the only ones I can think of offhand.  I have code that does all of these things which I am working in as subclasses, but I'd like to have them in LWJGL, because it's easier that way.  Should I just join the project and go for it in SVN?  I also don't know if this functionality is implemented elsewhere or would conflict with the "style" of LWJGL, and wouldn't want to tread on any toes by adding in these basic methods.