Building/Running Game.java in Eclipse 3.0

Started by Liquidream, September 01, 2004, 20:03:11

Previous topic - Next topic

Liquidream

Hi all,

Sorry I am a complete noob at LWJGL here and I can't (like most noobs!) see what I am doing wrong.  I have downloaded v0.9a from the site, ran the "test" java.jar from commandline - all seems ok.

I then followed the tutorial for creating a new project in Eclipse (I'm using 3.0 on WinXP) and still good so far... but! When I copy and paste the code for either of the two Game.java demo examples on the site I get import errors (note that I have done the step where I add "lwjgl.jar" as an external jar to the build path).

The following imports cannot be resolved  :? :
import org.lwjgl.LWJGLException;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.Display;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.DisplayMode;
import org.lwjgl.util.vector.Vector2f;

Which is no doubt why I have tons of other errors further down.  Upon inspection of the "lwjgl.jar" file, I cannot find the classes in the structure that the imports refer to, is this the problem?

Please can somebody take pity on me and show me what I'm doing wrong - I've no doubt it's something really silly, but it's doin' my head in.  I've had a good rummage round these forums but no joy.

Thanks v. much in advance  :cry: ,

Paul.

Liquidream

I am still trying to crack this one and I noticed (probably very obvious!), if I place "lwjgl.jar" in the project root folder (and then update the build path project properties), then it seems to solve the missing "import org.lwjgl.LWJGLException" - but the others still can't be found.

They don't seem to be in the JAR file, and I can't see any other JAR files to download from the main site.  There is a Display class in the package "org.lwjgl", but when I change "import org.lwjgl.opengl.Display;" to "import org.lwjgl.Display;" it doesn't like it (and rightly so I feel!).