Slow performance

Started by Nova_C, January 22, 2005, 22:39:13

Previous topic - Next topic

Nova_C

I'm brand new with both lwjgl and openGL and was trying to use the space invaders tutorial to learn. Before using lwjgl, I was using Java2D to create a graphics engine that turned out pretty good, but the openGL bindings in lwjgl convinced me to switch, as well as the openAL and input support.

Anyway, I tried taking the space invaders code and adapting it to what I was trying to achieve. Basically, I'm trying to load a .jpg image and have it move with the arrow keys. It works, after a fashion. I have no pauses in the code, but I only get about one move every two or three seconds. One of the main problems with what I'm attempting is that much of the code on Space Invaders is uncommented, so I don't know what a lot of things do (Especially considering the javadoc for the GL11 class contains no information on what things do). Here's my code so far. The GenericTools class in one I've created to make tools or methods that I use frequently exportable. Don't worry about it, it only does one thing for this code, anyway, and it works fine.

import org.lwjgl.opengl.*;
import org.lwjgl.*;
import org.lwjgl.input.*;
import org.lwjgl.examples.spaceinvaders.TextureLoader;
import org.lwjgl.examples.spaceinvaders.Texture;
import java.io.IOException;

public class Conflict
{

public static void main(String[] args)
  {
    DisplayMode mode = new DisplayMode(640, 480);
    try
    {
      mode = GenericTools.getDisplayMode(1024, 768, 32, 70);
    }
    catch(LWJGLException e)
    {
      if(e.equals("Unable to find appropriate display mode."))
      {
        System.out.println("Your display is not supported.");
        System.exit(0);
      }
    }
    try
    {
      Display.setDisplayMode(mode);
      Display.setTitle("Conflicts of Interest");
      Display.create();
      Display.setFullscreen(true);
    }
    catch(Exception e)
    {
      System.out.println("Exception " + e);